Secret heroes and hidden words…

Ok so, I wrote this about a year ago…. well you can see the date and it was when I was going through a phase of poetry and trying to write some okay stuff that I could make make a little book of…. the book never happened, but I have quite a few hidden away. So tonight, ready for tomorrow, I would like to share with you my first poem I wrote titled, “Secret Heroes” I hope you like it and I hope you can see what I was thinking and where I was coming from when I wrote it: (Let me know what you think :))

Secret heroes

They promised to give us back strong noble men,

They give us wounded scared boys.

They tell you to sign up,

But they don’t say you’re signing off your life.

A soldier’s sight is worth Β£1200,

But what is the price of a lost mind?

Burns, lost limps and hurt souls,

There is no cure for the nightmares.

The younger the better,

The more there is to ruin.

Pain that we can only imagine,

Running through their minds daily.

Leaving collueges, friends behind,

They run for cover.

The government hide our heroes,

They don’t want to let people see the truth.

They are embarrassed and ashamed.

Why is this still happening?

Why aren’t people stopping it?

You wonder if they have a heart,

and why they hide our secret soliders, our secret heroes.

30.07.09

Peace and love xxx

5 thoughts on “Secret heroes and hidden words…

Leave a Reply

