Harry Potter: Until the end.

Harry Potter began in 1997, with the first release of the series written by J. K. Rowling; Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. It was with this release that  I was hooked. I remember going to WH Smith’s to pick up our pre-ordered pack including a Harry Potter mug, a mouse mat, games, a keyring and of course, the first ever novel. I loved the story of Harry and his best friends, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, and as time went on, I honestly feel like I have grown up with them. The adventures and general excitement that they seemed to get themselves into always made me want to read the next one. Unfortunately, whether this was because of school, or because I am known as something of a ‘non-reader’ I don’t know, but I never managed to finish the series :( However, they are most definitely on my reading list to support my New Year: Things.

So where did the idea come from? Well, during 1990 (yes, the year I was born! haha!) J. K. Rowling was on a crowded train when the idea for Harry suddenly “fell into her head”. She later stated that: “I had been writing almost continuously since the age of six but I had never been so excited about an idea before. I simply sat and thought, for four (delayed train) hours, and all the details bubbled up in my brain, and this scrawny, black-haired, bespectacled boy who did not know he was a wizard became more and more real to me.”  She was originally rejected by several publishers until being accepted by Christopher Little and having ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ was accepted by Bloomsbury and Rowling was offered just £2,500 advance for its publication.

The second book is most definitely my favourite, however as I haven’Tumblr_lojg2lotvd1qhhf26o1_500_larget yet read the complete set, this is something of a ‘for now’ statement. I remember I was on Holiday and literally couldn’t put it down :) It was so good. The flying car; the fact Harry found out he could talk to snakes; Ginny was introduced properly and of course the chamber itself!

The films seem to have over taken the books for me, particularly in recent years. They were simply coming out too quickly for me to read the book, and I seem to have just given up and watched the film; but I will read them, I will. Since the films were released in 2000, it has been something of a tradition to book a première (or at least watch it as soon as the release date as possible,) with my Mum and Sister. Every film, we have been there. Right from the very beginning.

So now onto the final film; it was amazing! The special effect, the way everything was brought together… EVERYTHING! I must warn you, if you are not yet aware of what happens, it may be a idea not to read this little section. I loved it! The idea that it was all really a love story and Snape was really protecting Harry all along, because he loved Lily, Harry’s Mother. It was so well planned and thought out. I honestly thought that Harry would have to die in order for VoldermHarry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-part-2_largeort to die, but it was so clever and thought about that I am left amazed. I am going to really miss all this though…. I really do love Harry Potter.

I am now, more determined than ever to read all of the books. After my holiday (as I have 4 books I’m taking already, haha! This is my plan!) From the beginning, as a boy in the cupboard until the man who killed Voldermort! :) I really want to picture the whole thing for myself and piece it all together as I go. I am so happy that Harry survived – big YAY! haha! Anyway, that is my Harry Potter blog done, I hope you enjoyed it and I will be back very soon….

Peace and love,

Polly-May xx

One thought on “Harry Potter: Until the end.

Leave a Reply

