Marathon update / A week of bliss…

So, my life has sudden;y become crazily hectic. As you already know, I had my marathon on the 1st October for Children’s Cancer Research. I can honestly say it is the hardest thing I have ever done in my life. I don’t think that I honest realised just what it entailed, and it seemed, after about 4am that everywhere looked the same :/ I was struggling by about 17 miles straight, and although every bone in my body was aching, I just put my iPod in and went for it, and I am slightly proud of myself. I know that just one night and spending the day afterwards with my feet in salty water is absolutely nothing in comparison to what those thousands and thousands of people have to encounter. I would happily do it again, but maybe try to train and brace myself a little more.

So, what about the money? So far, (and there is still time to sponsor me) I have raised Β£351.00 which I am so pleased with, however, I do need a little more, in order to be able to really be satisfied with what I have done. I want to be able to buy a micro array machine with my sponsors and then I really would be the happiest girl in the world! I am so close, as one costs just Β£360.00, so need to really pull out all the stops.

[Insert picture: Us at the finishing line…]

Then, I went away for the week, back to Turkey. I had the best time, and really do love that place. It is becoming on of my favourite places ever! I went with Briony and Megan, so just us girls and it was sooooo good. We basically did what we wanted for a week, and even though I flew out and home on my own, it was one of the best holidays I’ve ever been on. Truth be told, I actually quite liked travelling on my own. Shady is going in the army, so it was literally to see him and spend time with him, before he goes to do his National Service for about 18 months. I so don’t want anything to happen to him and it got me thinking; it is really strange how quickly you can make friends and how much they mean to you. Like, I only met him 7 weeks ago…. it’s just strange what people mean to you. [Pictures to follow.]

I went jet skiing, which was so much fun and we drank and sun bathed and went on a speedboat and went to the market and ate out and got kebab takeaway and everything! It really was so much fun, but now it’s time to be serious and knuckle down with Uni. I start at my school tomorrow and I think it may be a ‘experience’ to say the least. The school isn’t too far from my one from last year, however, it is completely different. I just hope I enjoy it. I will, of course, let you know :)

My idea of doing things, not for any particular reason, but just because they make you happy was definitely the best idea I have had in a very long time. I am starting to get this whole, making every day count thing. :)

Well, I have lots of organising to do for tomorrow, but I just wanted to fill you in! And I will add holiday photos very very soon :) haha! :) Wish me luck for tomorrow.

Peace and love, Polly-May xxx

Leave a Reply

