Sometimes I feel like throwing my hands up in the air; I know I can count on you.

“Regrets collect like old friends,
Here to relive your darkest moments,
I can see no way, I can see no way,
And all of the ghouls come out to play.

And every demon wants his pound of flesh,
But I like to keep some things to myself,
I like to keep my issues drawn,
It’s always darkest before the dawn.

And I’ve been a fool and I’ve been blind,
I can never leave the past behind,
I can see no way, I can see no way,
I’m always dragging that horse around.

All of his questions, such a mournful sound,
Tonight I’m gonna bury that horse in the ground,
So I like to keep my issues drawn,
But it’s always darkest before the dawn.”

So, I found this picture on weheartit.com of Florence on Thursday night. She wore this magnificant cape and looked so amazing. I find it strange how confident someone is when they appear so different and not ‘the norm’. It was brilliant. She also had a velvet catsuit on underneath and mentioned “This is the moment when I realise how many there are of you, and I’m in a velvet catsuit” on the night :)

For my ‘Art in Education’ strand at University, I have decided to focus on music, lyrics and their meanings. I listen a wide range of musical artists: Jay Z, The Rolling Stones, Jessie J, Rihanna, Florence and the Machine, Charlie Simpson, Beyonce, The Killers, David Bowie, Jason Derulo, Stevie Wonder, Frank Sinatra, tinie Tempah, Gwen Stefani… anything really. So I thought it would be fun to do something on it. I always stayed clear of music realted art when I was on my art course, mainly because I felt a bit like everyone was already doing it, but I really don’t feel like that this time, and I actually think it will be lots and lots of fun :)

I know that I want to use the song featured at the top of this blog. (Florence and the Machine’s “Shake it out”.) I also know I want to use Jay Z and Pharell Williams song, “So ambitious”, with its’ line “The motivation for me, is them telling me what I could not be. Oh well.” But that’s all I’ve got so far. I think it is going to be quite time consuming when I have to sit and go through all of my favourite tracks :/ But it’ll all be worth it, if I am happy with my sketch book, final piece, and I get a good grade at the end of it :)

So, basically, what I wanted to ask is this…. if you have a absolute favourite, can’t get enough of it, means so much to you track, could you please comment and let me know the name of the song, who it is by and if there is a particular line in it that means something to you. You could also tell me why it means so much to you, because that would make it a lot more interesting to read :) Please spread the word, and a thousand thank you’s in advance!

Peace and love, Polly-May xx

2 thoughts on “Sometimes I feel like throwing my hands up in the air; I know I can count on you.

Leave a Reply

