Charlie Simpson at the Corn Exchange, Ipswich

So, on the 21st March (Wednesday), My Sister and I went to see the beautiful Charlie Simpson. Some how, he was even better live and, as I had learnt all of his songs from his new album ‘Young Pilgrim’, I was pleased that he sang all of them and I could sing along! Haha! The gig ended up being seated, which was a lot better, as we had room for a shopping and general room to breathe! Haha! I had a lovely time and with the support artists, Sam Beeton (who was quite good and busting out the double denim) and somehow managed to play the guitar and harmonica at the same time – baffled! Haha! As well as, the Martin Harley Group (who were very Southern America sounding) and their ‘muppets animal’ drumer, it was a very good gig indeed, and worth queuing up for an hour, even if we were the oldest there haha!

I hadn’t really heard of Charlie Simpson, except (of course!) because of his fame from the Boyband Busted, until my Sister told me about him and I realised that he really is a talented musician and I love the fact that it was quite rock-y on the night. I kind of wish he would do a live CD as I would definately buy it! I loved the ‘All at Once’ performance, which is ultimately my favouirte track on the album, but I also love ‘Sundown’ which is a lovely heart-felt song. He was just fantastic, and if you haven’t listened to him yet, you definately should. Haha! Here are some ‘unplugged’ videos that I found via youtube, so that you can see for yourselves, just how talented he really is :)

Peace and love, Polly May xx

One thought on “Charlie Simpson at the Corn Exchange, Ipswich

Leave a Reply

