A very culteral day indeed…

So, today is started my final piece for my ‘Arts in Education’ strand at University. I honestly didn’t realise what I had let myself in for. I basically had the idea of linking music and lyrics that mean something to you and the idea of travel and places I have been and want to go in the future. Some of lyrics include ‘Start me up’, ‘you can’t choose what stays and what fades away’, ‘cupid’s shuffle’, and ‘concrete jungle where dreams are made of’.

So, I bought a huge world map and began to stitch the lyrics onto it at 11.30 this morning and have only just finished (it’s now 17:45!!) and have stitched a total of 8 words! Woo hoo! Haha! It is soooo time consuming. I have worked it out and should take me 5 full days (roughly) and it’s due in on the 16th May. I also have to write a reflective essay, do a whole sketch book and a reflective log. So, no pressure :/ I also want it to be a super personal piece of work, so have used vintage thread, as I love anything to do with historical eras (especially the fashion for the 40’s and 50’s). I bought a coloured world map, as opposed to a black a white one, because I love colour. I have used dark green thread as it represents my mum (to me) and it was also my school uniform colour.

From doing this project so far, I have realised that I really want to accomplish a lot in my life. I mean, to see some of the places that I want to, I am going to have to work super hard and really try to see as much of them as I can. I am a little bit shocked at the amount of the world I haven’t yet seen….. I will, of course, put a blog up of the finished thing when it’s done, but for now, I really want to keep it a surprise :)

I have also read lots more of my current book ‘The exotic marigold hotel’. I am a third of the way through and it is so well written and not what I expected at all. It’s a really good read and am aiming to finish it very very soon, so that I can start on the next Harry Potter (which I know is going to take me ages haha!).

I feel like I have had a very cultural day indeed with my reading and my art and my stitching haha!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

