Viva Forever at Piccadilly Theatre

viva

So, last night as one of my birthday treats, I went to see the Spice Girls inspired musical ‘Viva Forever’ with a couple of friends. It was a lovely sunny day in London, and I have to say that I felt rather dressed up in my lace backed maxi dress. We met up and went for a lovely meal, before walking around to Piccadilly Circus to see the show.

We had been upgraded to stalls and had a perfect view of the stage; however it was a little lacking in atmosphere as there were so many empty seats around us. The show started and I think that although the show had received such bad reviews in the press, we were still hopeful that it would be a laugh, regardless of the singing/acting.

Unfortunately, there was very little storyline and I think we all found it a bit confusing to follow. Songs seemed to be thrown into a scene for no reason and they didn’t really match the part of the show that was meant to be happening. I was really gutted about the lack of finale too – like most musicals there is a big finale with all the massive hits of the show, but this didn’t really happen. It’s a shame because I have grown up with the Spice Girls and I thought that it would be such a fun night out. Luckily, we were able to laugh about it and just go along with it, but I would have been really upset if I had spent the £65 that were on offer for the seats a few rows in front of us.

I did have a laugh with my friends in London, so it wasn’t all bad and the emotional goodbye across the platform to my friend Louise was priceless! Haha! (I even made friends on the train home and had about a million pictures taken with them! Haha!)

Peace and love, Polly May xx

4 thoughts on “Viva Forever at Piccadilly Theatre

  1. Ah, what a shame it was a bit rubbish! I’d heard this about it and now it’s been cancelled so I guess it’s true!

    Great that you had a good time despite that though! :)

    1. I know. We didn’t realise it had had such rubbish reviews until after we had booked the tickets. It was a good night though so it’s all good… Thanks for your comment :)

  2. I’m so disappointed to hear it’s no good! I’m an avid Spice Girls fan and would’ve loved to see the show if I ever made it over to London again.

    1. Yeah, I know. They were my first ever album that I bought and was so excited to go for my birthday. The show just didn’t make any sense and the singing was pretty bad… such a shame. xx

Leave a Reply

