Brighten up your wardrobe; Brighten up your life.

Okay, so, back in the day, I used to dress exactly as I wanted to, however, as I have got older I feel that my ‘style’ (for want of a better word) has changed and mellowed behind recognition. My motto was ‘clash it’ and I remember one significant outfit, which consisted of dark grey suit trousers, pale pink converse, an electric blue top and a mustard knitted cardigan thing. Although it should horrible this was during my college years and my excuse was that I had just left an all-girls school (which I hated because of the bitchiness and the fact that I seemed to outgrow all of my ‘friends’ by the time I left) and I instantly felt like I didn’t care what people thought anymore. I found an amazing confidence, I made all new friends and I basically didn’t care what people thought of me, so long as I was happy and the friends around me were happy. Looking back now, I was so bright and colourful, and I looked so happy. College was 100% the best time of my life, without a doubt.

The purpose of this entire post is to basically inspire you (and myself!) to go back to a ‘not caring’ phase. I don’t feel that I need to lose a little bit of weight at the moment, or maybe I just need to tone, but I want to start wearing colours that suit me and completely messing up all of the fashion ‘rules’ in order for me to feel a bit more happier. I think it is an awesome idea and it would be awesome if you joined in to! I am going to add some colour to inspire you and make you feel a bit more joyful! Haha! (I watched a TV program the other morning and they also said that animal print, particularly snake print, is really ‘in’, so if you are a bit worried about clashing, you can always drop some animal print in to break it all up.) So good luck, and I hope that these images inspire you a little bit more :)

color-block

So, this is the first image that I found online and I have to say that I love every single one! I particularly love the blue trousers (third from the right) becasue they are just amazing! It’s like the perfect teaching outfit, and the yellow shirt is just gorgeous. Do you have any ideas where I can get similar trousers from? They are so cute! Some of them, I wouldn’t be able to wear as I can’t carry off orange very well, but they are amazing outfits all the same.

bloggers-neon-blazers

So, this these image are clearly amazing! I love the one on the right because it’s just so wearable. Although it isn’t completely ‘colour block’, it is pretty amazing and I think that it would suit most body shapes too! I don’t think I have the legs for those teeny tiny shorts in the middle picture though! Haha! Ideas, ideas, ideas…

Street-Style-Yellow-Fashion-Notebook-17

So, any I the only person that is completely obsessed with yellow at the moment? It’s such a happy colour and it’s everywhere at the moment. I already own a yellow dress and a mustard maxi skirt from a couple of years ago, but I think that yellow can literally brighten up your day. All you need is a pair of tan sandals and a crisp white tee. Perfect :)

I hope this post has inspired you to brighten up your wardrobe a little.

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

