‘Magna Carta… Holy Grail (I Rock Tom Ford)’

P1000483Magna Carta… Holy Grail.

So, after getting paid from my first month at my new teaching job, I decided to finally go and pick up Magna Carta… Holy Grail. I am a massive Jay Z fan and I love the fact that he doesn’t believe in ‘genres’ of music, but see great music as great music regardless of what ‘genre’ it is. Amazing. I recently wrote about seeing him at Wireless Festival, which was awesome, but today I thought I would write about what I thought of the album.

P1000471Add it to the collection (Don’t judge me by my other CDs – ha!)

First of all, I haven’t stopped listening to it since I bought it on Saturday. I know that I was a little late, but I wanted to do it properly and buy it as a ‘first pay check’ present to myself haha! It was totally worth the wait too! The opening vocals of Justin Timberlake on ‘Holy Grail’ are amazing and I love the song as a whole. ‘Picasso’, I’m not too keen on, but then it gets to ‘Tom Ford’, which is possibly my favourite song on the entire album. The beat is insane and I absolutely love it! Other ones that I love are: ‘Heaven’, ‘Part II (On The Run)’, ‘Beach is Better’ and ‘La Familia’. I just love the album, if I’m completely honest and I think that it’s incredibly brave and clever for Jay Z to still be releasing new material that is new. It’s his 13th album and I think that he is still making brand new beats. Many of the songs on the album also made it into various countries charts, without even being released at singles. Amazing.

‘Holy Grail’ and ‘Oceans’ were originally supposed to be featured on Jay Z’s and Kanye West’s collaborative album, ‘Watch The Throne’. However, Jay Z felt that they would get lost amongst other strong pieces such as ‘Niggas in Paris’ and ‘Otis’, so he kept them for this album and ‘No Church In The Wild’ and ‘Made In America’ took their place on ‘Watch The Throne’.

P1000478Covers.

The backing track featured on ‘Crown’ was sung by 16-year-old, WondaGurl. When Jay Z heard it, he featured it and then rapped and added the instrumental tune over the top creating the mixed beat that you get on the song.

The album debuted at number one (Hell Yes!) on the Billboard 200, selling 528,000 copies in its first week. But, even more impressive, and surprising, than this: Magna Carta… Holy Grail went in straight at number one in the UK album charts, making it his first, ever UK number one album. (I know shocking, right?) It would appear he still knows what he’s doing.

I have watched all of these videos, but I think that these ones are my favourite (#1 & #4), so I thought that I would share it with you all. I could literally listen to him all day long. I hope you enjoy it, and if you haven’t already got the album, it’s definitely worth a trip to HMV or just click here!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

