Water for Elephants: The Book.

Water-For-ElephantsSuch a beautiful era.

My sister had bought me this book a little while ago, for a birthday. However, I had lots of others lined up, so hadn’t got around to it. I was absolutely determined to finish it this morning, so I woke up and basically refused to get out of bed until I had read the remaining eighty pages or so.

Water for Elephants is an absolutely amazing book. It seemed to completely and utterly take me back to the 1930s circus era. It was incredibly well written and I think a book that it was definitely difficult to put down. I fell asleep with it on my bed many nights as I just couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer to read it. Jacob Jankowski had me hooked from the start and with the talented writing of Sara Gruen, I kind of began to emphasize with him, his care for the animals and his love for Marlena. I loved it.

trioAugust, Jacob & Marlena.

Rosie the elephant was the complete heroin of the book and I loved her for it. As she was introduced into the story, I wasn’t sure how it was going to pan out, especially with her frequent beating from Marlena’s evil husband, August. I actually found those parts of the story quite difficult to read, but they were needed to show how August really was before the truth about him later unravelled.

I don’t want to give too much away about this story, and I am looking forward to seeing how the film transfers the amazing story that I have just read. It was an incredibly story full of crime, history, friendships and, of course, romance. I think that anyone would enjoy this book. I can’t believe I hadn’t read it before.

Peace and love, Polly May xx

2 thoughts on “Water for Elephants: The Book.

  1. I enjoyed this book, too. The movie stayed close to the novel and usually I don’t like seeing a movie after reading the book. Christoph Waltz was fantastic. Sara Gruen’s book, Ape House, was good, but not as good as Water for Elephants, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

