Hello September!

largeIt’s actually here…!

I thought it would be a good idea to share a bit of an important part of my life with all of you.  I don’t really do ‘serious’ posts, but I feel that this is a bit of a moment and should be documented. As some of you may already know, I have been training to become a primary school teacher for three years now and on the 7th May, I got my first ever job. It is in a lovely school and the staff are some of the loveliest people I have ever met. So, here goes;

‘The other morning I went into my classroom and finished off a few bits and bobs that I needed to do. Terri kindly helped me to put up the backing papers, while I sorted the computer, moved some bits around and tidied up. Then, I popped back with Mum for a few final things before I return on Tuesday. Truth is; after I left the school, I haven’t been able to switch off from it at all. I have suddenly become really anxious about the whole thing, which is weird for me because I rarely get nervous about things, with the exception of my driving tests. There is a strong possibility that my school will be inspected by Ofsted in the first term back, and having not had Ofsted before, I am nervous to say the least. I think it will be fine, it’ll just be the evidence etc. that I will need to show etc. that scares me a little bit. But, hopefully they will give me enough notice that I will be able to sort everything out.

Don’t get me wrong, I am really, really excited. I have always imagined myself in this type of job. I don’t really like being ‘looked down on’ and I hate it when people think that they are superior to you because you’re the newbie. Luckily, schools aren’t really like this and I am exceptionally lucky as my school is lovely and everyone has been so welcoming and polite, it’s almost hard to believe I have only been there for three weeks of my life. I also love working with children and helping them realise that they are a lot smarter than they think they are. It’s amazing to see them realise their potential and work hard.

Once I get into the swing of things, I know that I will be absolutely fine, but right now, I have a splitting headache (probably linked), I can’t think about anything else and I worried that I have forgotten something (which is a very strong possibility). I just need to get into the routine and general running of things and I’ll feel a lot better about it all. At University, there is always someone telling you what to do and how to improve and a better way of doing something etc. I suppose it just feels like I am going into the unknown a little bit.’

I have had an absolutely wicked summer! It has gone insanely quick and I have done a lot of what I wanted to. I have seen Jay Z headline Wireless Festival 2013, found out that I got a 2:1 for my degree, met up with friends, been to my sister’s graduation, gone to London lots, seen lots of good films, sorted out my classroom, celebrated birthdays, seen Beyonce at V Festival 2013, gone on museum days, been away for a couple of days, mooched around Camden, said goodbye to my friend who’s going travelling and seen Charlie and the Chocolate Factory at the Theatre. So, now I suppose it’s time for the hard work to start.

Peace and love, Polly May xx

2 thoughts on “Hello September!

Leave a Reply

