Poppy Day: 11/11

poppies

So, as some of you may already know, a few years ago, I posted a poem on Remembrance Sunday that I wrote – click here if you would like to read it. I have re-posted it a couple of times, but this year I wanted to do something different and thought that being a primary school teacher gave me a little bit of an ‘up’ on what I could achieve to celebrate and remember such an important day.

I had the idea after watching ‘Good Morning Britain’ and from them showing a very small snippet of film from another school who had done this idea. I loved the idea of recycling and making the children see that everyday objects could be re-used and turned into something pretty amazing.

So, what I did was I asked everyone that I knew to collect large and small ordinary plastic bottles. So long as they had the ‘bobbles’ on the bottom, they were perfect! I then cut the bottoms off (as this is all you need) and shaped them like a flower with curves at the top of each ‘bobble’. Each child then used red tissue paper and PVA glue to make them into poppies! After they had finished them off with a black centre, they were ready to be drilled and put along the school fence!

I am so happy with how they turned out and I think that the shape of the bottle made the children more excited than if they had been asked to just draw a picture or make a collage. Hopefully, it’s something that they will remember doing, as well as why we all wear poppies in the first place.

Today is a very special day and I hope that you all showed your respect and appreciation for the soldiers who fought and are still fighting for us to live in such a fortunate place.

Peace and love, Polly May xx

2 thoughts on “Poppy Day: 11/11

Leave a Reply

