Review: The Theory of Everything

2014TheoryofEverythingRedmayneUniversal

So, on Wednesday (yes, as in Orange Wednesday – does anyone know when/if they are going for good?), I went to see ‘The Theory of Everything‘, which is all about Stephen Hawking and his incredible life. I can honestly say that it was one of the most amazing films I have ever seen! It was so, so good, like “I needed a wee for two hours and couldn’t move from my seat” good. It was so well directed, by James Marsh, and I honestly felt that Eddie Redmayne (who starred in ‘My Week with Marilyn’) couldn’t have done a better job. It was insane!

I was delighted that the film focused on him and his accomplishments, as well as his life-long battle with Motor Neurone Disease. I also loved that the film showed that all of his friends from Cambridge were constant throughout it. It never came across that he was left feeling lonely or ever felt sorry for himself. He just seemed to deal with it, even when he told his best friend that he only had two years left to live. It was so moving and I will admit, one of the only songs to ever make me cry a little bit in the cinema (actually, I think it’s the only one in the cinema, as I watched ‘The Notebook’ at home. Lol!). However, as his physical ability deteriorated, it was evident just how much he was struggling. What a strong person he must of been. I can’t imagine ever being that insanely intelligent and being told that you only have two years left to live, when you have so much talent, and to still be alive today (at the age of 73)!

Theory-of-Everything-banner

A huge part of the film was the journey that Stephen and his wife, Jane, took and the incredible life that they built together. Played by Felicity Jones, her character was shown to really have a true strength and determination, as well as a true love. And, although they did not stay together, and I have since researched that Hawking went on to marry his carer, Elaine Mason, it was incredible to see how hard-working they both are.

I cannot actually write how utterly amazing this film was and after seeing ‘The Imitation Game’ the bar was pretty high (Read my post here)! Seriously, go and see it! I think this might be better, if not just as good! And I’m not the only one that thinks it is totally amazing – Check this out! Oh, and this one! Here’s another! This is probably my favourite review of all of them!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

One thought on “Review: The Theory of Everything

Leave a Reply

