Weekly Give Up: Workload & My Life.

weekly give upSo, the week beginning the 19th January, I decided that I would give up taking any work home – no books to mark, no data to enter, no assessment, no test papers, no planning. Nothing. Looking back now, I can see that this was probably the most ridiculous idea I have ever had in my entire life. Although I had a brilliant first week – I went out to dinners, met friends for coffee, went to the pictures and went shopping, I was so behind on my work that I have had to work on overload for the past week to catch up. When I say overload, I mean, getting into work for 7:30am and not leaving before 5:30pm, only to continue the marking or what have you at home until about 9:30 at night. I have had no life whatsoever. I’ve barely spoken to my parents other than a quick ‘how was your day’ at the dining table, and I have somehow managed to feel completely isolated and quite lonely from my friends. It’s been a horrible stressful week, full of observations, heaps of marking (partly my own fault), no social life at all and being pestered for data results. It’s been horrid, hence the reason I haven’t blogged – I don’t think you would have wanted to have read about how rubbish a time I was having.

So, Week 5’s give up will be anything that tastes remotely nice. I will be starting a very strict, very determined diet tomorrow. I never, ever weigh myself because I became quite obsessive about it during my teenager years, and I felt that it was making me worse about myself than I already did, so… I stopped. However, yesterday, for some unknown reason, I jumped on the scales to reveal that I am currently probably the heaviest that I have ever been (or ever remembered). So, I need to do something about this and I need to do it now! I am going to be eating lots of fruit and vegetable and absolutely no rubbish (rubbish being; biscuits, crisps, chocolate, crisps, bread, processed meats etc.). This might seem extreme, but I want to get back to how I was. I am also going to try to do some sort of exercise for half an hour a day. This might be a fitness DVD, or a quick pace walk, but I am going to try my best to fit it into my day now that I am ‘back on track’. Wish me luck!!

Peace and love,

Polly May xx

One thought on “Weekly Give Up: Workload & My Life.

Leave a Reply

