Tanya Burr’s chocolate cookies

IMG_2715-0

First of all, sorry I haven’t blogged as much I would have liked the past couple of weeks. I have had a lot of stuff happening that I will be able to tell you in a little while. Buuuuut, it’s half term! Yayayayayayay!! I made it! The last half term before the summer holidays :) I am so in need of the break and I’m glad that I have got a few things planned.

Anyway, I thought I would be a little bit of baking today. Mainly because I love cakes, but also because I got Tanya Burr’s, ‘Love, Tanya’ book for my birthday and some of the cake recipes look insanely good! So here it goes….

First of all you’re going to need to ingredients:

You will need:

  • 200g butter,
  • 300g caster sugar,
  • 1 large free range egg,
  • 325g self-raising flour,
  • 200g milk chocolate
  • And 200g White chocolate.

All of this, plus a baking tray cost me around Β£5… So not to much at all :)

Set your oven to 200c and then whisk your butter and sugar together. It will look a little bit like scrambled egg, but keep going until it’s creamy and smooth. Oh, and just in case you were going to try, it is near impossible to whisk this with a manual whisk lol!

Add one large free range egg – it’s better for the chickens! :) Then weigh out your flour and slowly add it into your cookie mix until it turns into a more of a dough.

Cut up a all of your chocolate (all 400g of it) and add it to the mixture – by the way, this is totally satisfying to do lol!

Bake in the oven for 10 – 12 minutes. They should be turning brown on the edges, but squishy and lovely in the middle :)

Leave for 25 minutes to cool before eating the lot of them! Haha!! Just kidding. On a side note, Tanya’s recipe says that this make 10 cookies, but I somehow got 18 out of the mixture! Winning all round! (Hahahaha! My predictive text just totally put winking all round!)

They are so, so tasty. I have been attempting cookies for ages, and they always turn out wrong. This was going to be my last attempt really, but I’m so pleased with how easy it was to make them, and even easier to eat them! I really love baking – it’s so therapeutic and it just relaxes you.

Anyway, I hope that you enjoy making them as much I did. I would totally recommend Tanya’s book by the way, I’m about 60 pages in and it’s really interesting – and the cookies are pretty good too!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

4 thoughts on “Tanya Burr’s chocolate cookies

Leave a Reply

