It’s a new day / Hello June

5XxXbvGP0u8

May has been a funny, old month. I have had some really, really brilliant days out and seen friends and celebrated my birthday, but I have also been the saddest that I have ever been, probably in my life! There has been a lot going on and I haven’t been coping the best, and I have let myself down quite a lot. But, anyway, June will be better. It will.

So, things that I have been doing in May:

  • Obviously, I celebrated my birthday – I got to go to the Alexander McQueen exhibition at the V&A, which was incredible and I learned so much about him and the amazing work that he achieved in his lifetime. He was so creative and so inspired to be different that he really didn’t care what people thought. Yes, some of his aim was to shock people, but he actually just experimented with fashion and chose what he felt was pushing the boundaries. Just think, we wouldn’t have had a lot of the punk fashion movement if it wasn’t for Alexander McQueen. Amazing.
  • Still celebrating my birthday, I got to go to Hampton Court Maze, which is something that I have wanted to do for ages. I love history and finding out how people used to live before our times, so this was really, really interesting to me. I also got to spend the whole day with Briony and stop-off at the 02 for some dinner and drinks, which, again, was lovely.
  • I shared some of my favourite music that is out at the moment.Β 
  • I have been reading (and becoming slightly obsessed with) Tanya Burr’s book, ‘Love, Tanya’. Because of this, I decided to have a go at making some white and milk chocolate cookies from her recipes section and they turned out so good! They also lasted quite a long time, as I put them in tupperware as soon as they were cool – A definite must if you’re looking for something easy, tasty and simple to do.
  • I made myself realise just how amazing London really is and how much I love it, by going to The Museum of London. It is one of those museums that I don’t always think of when considering a museum trip and, I’m sorry to say, that I often forget about it altogether. However, it was so interesting and such a gorgeous day that I was able to sit outside St Paul’s and people watching, while we ate our lunch and chatted about life.
  • …And finally, I went to Bicester Village, which is something that has been planned for a while, but I was struggling to find time to do it. It was worth the drive and my pennies were very well spent. I finally got the Michael Kors handbag that I wanted. It just makes me feel more independent when I can buy myself bigger purchases like that and know that I have worked bloody hard to earn that money!

May has been an interesting month and, in some ways, I wish that I could reverse it and not be in such a sadness, but these things happen, and I know that one ‘iffy’ month is not going to ruin the rest of my 2015! I have lots in store for June – I’m going to read more, laugh more and do more of what makes me happy – and I’m super excited to share it all with you. Blogging really does cheer me up!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

