Start Happy: I’ve Got A New Job!!


This year at work has not been the easiest for me. I always try and put every effort into helping children that need support – for whatever reason – some children need it in order to complete work, but some children just need someone to listen to. It’s been a struggle to do this and for the last few months, I felt like I wasn’t doing my job properly because I just didn’t have the energy or the extra guidance to do it all. I thought about leaving teaching altogether, but quickly realised that wasn’t what I wanted.

So, before May Half Term, I handed my notice in at my school. I didn’t have another job or interview lined up. I didn’t know what I was going to do 100%, but, without going into too much detail, I knew I couldn’t stay at my current school. Immediately after handing it in, I felt like a weight had been lifted and that I had a chance of getting back to myself.


I applied for one job at a school I had seen years before. Mum had a hospital appointment and with the school directly opposite, I said to her “oh, what a cute, little school”. After applying, the school contacted me and asked me to go and have a look around and meet the Headteacher etc. They were so lovely and welcoming and I thought to myself ‘this is what a school should feel like’. After having a look around and meeting a few of the staff, the Headteacher said that she wasn’t sure what to do as she had to wait for the deadline before offering me an interview (which was about 12 days away). So she asked me to give in my documentation and she I would hear from her soon.

… And I did! The interview process wasn’t at all what I thought it would have been. I didn’t need to teach for my current job during the interview, so I was slightly nervous about that. The only criteria was to teach them something they didn’t know. So, I taught the perimeter of a 2D shape. I had 8 children, who were all very responsive and seemed to enjoy the lesson, before I had a formal sit-down interview. I left the school and felt optimistic about the job, but I was unsure if there were other possible, more experienced candidates.


I am pleased to say that they offered me it! I have since been in and met my class, who are all lovely! I have also met more of the staff that I will be working with, who are so unbelievably helpful! I have also told my current class that I will be leaving in a week (it has been so difficult not to say anything to them or the parents or anyone really, but the school wanted them to find out with the reports).

I am so happy to have got a job in a nice, small school which is exactly what I wanted! It wasn’t until I stepped back and realised how exhausted I was that I knew I had to leave. From handing my notice in to having a week left at my current school, I am beginning to feel normal again.

Peace, love and fresh starts,

Polly May xx

One thought on “Start Happy: I’ve Got A New Job!!

Leave a Reply

