Review: A Man from U.N.C.L.E.

uncle

So, last week, Terri (@twoninethree) and I went to see ‘A Man from U.N.C.L.E’ at the cinema. Now, I will tell you the truth and say that I really, really didn’t fancy it and I thought it would be quite a hardcore German/Nazi/spies film. But after watching the trailer and reading a few reviews, I changed my mind and thought I’d give it a go. We went to Frankie & Benny’s before, which was lovely, and stuffed our faces full of garlic dough balls and herb potatoes and pizza and pasta (God knows what happened to my ‘being good’) and then we headed over to the cinema near where we live.

After Terri stopped dribbling over Henry Cavill and the film started, I thought it was really good. I love the graphics and credits that Guy Richie uses in his films alone, but I did like the opening and the car race (haha!). Here is a brief summary of the plot of the film, taken from google: At the height of the Cold War, a mysterious criminal organization plans to use nuclear weapons and technology to upset the fragile balance of power between the United States and Soviet Union. CIA agent Napoleon Solo (Henry Cavill) and KGB agent Illya Kuryakin (Armie Hammer) are forced to put aside their hostilities and work together to stop the evildoers in their tracks. The duo’s only lead is the daughter of a missing German scientist, whom they must find soon to prevent a global catastrophe.

uncle2

I was really surprised that Hugh Grant was in it and I was even more surprised by how different he looked in the film. It’s strange but, I think everyone still associates him with his classic films like Notting Hill and Four Weddings and a Funeral. Some parts of the film were a bit gruesome to watch, but I did really enjoy the story line and how they kept you wanted to watch. It was a great twist the the young girl revealed the two spies towards the end of the film and it made a really interesting ending. I am hoping that there will be another one as the spies were all re-assigned together and become the spy group, U.N.C.L.E. We will have to wait and see.

Not my usual type of film and I wouldn’t have normally gone for something so heavy to watch. But, it wasn’t it was funny and almost comical in places and it was well worth a watch! :)

Peace and love, Polly May xx

One thought on “Review: A Man from U.N.C.L.E.

Leave a Reply

