IRIS:  The Movie 

iris

“You’re not pretty, and you’ll never be pretty. But it doesn’t matter. You have something much better. You have style.”

So, on Sunday after a very impromptu trip to London, I went to see the movie, IRIS. We went up in our dresses and skirts, sandals at the ready, and off we went to Spitalfields to have a look around. It was so, so busy, but there was brilliant stands and foody places and everything. There was so much that I could have bought, but I didn’t, I behaved myself :) We got a really yummy Turkish wrap in the market and then headed out into the pouring rain! We got absolutely soaked (regardless of my Percy Pig umbrella) and so we decided to jump in a black – but, blue – cab and arrived at the Barbican Cinema in London. After collecting our tickets and grabbing a quick hot chocolate to warm up (we were cold and wet by this point), it was time for the film!

iris1

Iris Apfel’s creativity and general outlook on life is honestly out of this world! She dresses in a way that makes her happy and explains in the fashion film/documentary that it is far more important to look happy than well dressed. However, with this in mind, her dress sense is absolutely flawless! She is a visionary and she creates such gorgeous, one-off looks that it makes you jealous that someone can look at garments so differently when they are just hanging in the wardrobe or on a rail. She loves big, bold bangles up her arms and often has her collar turned up, as well as her lilac tinted hair and her huge black rimmed glasses that create her signature look. I was eased that the film also told the story of her travels and the life she had lived with her husband, who celebrated his 100th birthday towards the end of the film.

She became well known after her personal collection of outfits featured in an exhibition at New York’s Met Museum in 2015. After this, she was known as the geriatric starlet of fashion and went on to design window displays, attend catwalks and award shows, give interviews and just generally be FABULOUS! I loved how she said that ‘everyone downtown said that they dressed nice, but they just wore black’ and it’s so true! So many people just think that by putting black on, they instantly become stylish, but this isn’t always the case. Lol!

I really enjoyed the film and I did feel really inspired when I left. I wanted to not be so ‘normal’ with how I dressed. I also really love the Barbican cinema! It was super fancy, with people showing us to our seats with a torch and fancy leather seats. Little things, ay?

Anyway, I’m going to share this little trailer with you for Iris, but I can honestly say that it was so good and so interesting to see how extravagant someone else’s lifestyle is (plus, it just makes me want to go to NYC all over again!). She’s 93 years old and just fabulous. Something to aim for, I guess :)

Peace and love, Polly May xx

2 thoughts on “IRIS:  The Movie 

Leave a Reply

