Baking Banana and Chocolate Bread!

bananatop

As you might have now guessed, I am very ‘into’ baking at the moment. I have had lots of spare time over the holidays (boo to being back at work), and I have been able to fit lots in, especially baking!! So, this time I thought I would try something a little bit different and not my typical sweet cake. I had never had a banana bread / cake / loaf before, so I decided to go with Mary Berry’s recipe which had chocolate chips in it too! You can get the full details here!

IMG_3629

To start off with, you will need to get all of your ingredients ready. There wasn’t as many fresh ingredients for this one, but I decided to pick it because it involved the banana and I didn’t feel as completely and utterly naughty eating it! We’ll ignore all of the sugar and butter and chocolate haha! Luckily, it was another one of those ‘throw it all into one bowl and mix using an electric whisk’ recipes. Pretty much fool-proof, right? So, you will need:

I have done this recipe a couple of times now because I used too much bicarbonate of soda the first time and didn’t taste great, but it is a really easy recipe to follow because it only has 5 steps. It was super, super tasty the second time that I made it and, even though it sunk quite a lot, it was soooooo good! You’re going to need to know what to do with all of this, so…

  1. Preheat the oven 160C/325F/Gas 3. Grease and line a 450g/1lb loaf tin with non-stick baking parchment.

banana1

banana22. Use a fork to mash the peeled banana in a mixing bowl. Add the remaining cake ingredients (except the chocolate chips) and beat with an electric hand whisk until combined and smooth.

banana33. Stir in the chocolate chips and spoon the mixture into the prepared loaf tin. Level the top.

4. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until well risen, shrinking away from the sides of the tin and golden-brown.

IMG_3645

5. Set aside to cool for 10 minutes, then remove from the tin and leave to cool on a wire rack.

It honestly was one of the easiest recipes that I have ever done, but I think that I, personally, still need some practice at this. It’s quite difficult to know what it is supposed to taste like when you have never had it before. I think that I will try it again, but add more banana and try to get more air into the mixture before I put it into the oven. (I did try it again and it came out so much better! I added an extra banana because you couldn’t really taste it and it was 100% better! YUM!)

bananabottom

I hope you’ve liked this baking blog! I’ve got to admit that they are my favourite blogs to do at the moment. I think that it makes you try new things and learn more about the goodness in different foods. I am thinking of doing something a little bit more daring next time (as it is my 90 days!), if you’ve got any ideas or recipes or challenges for me, then please comment below and I will reply, as always! Maybe a cheesecake? Would that be fun? Oh, I don’t know. Leave me a comment if you would like to and enjoy baking your banana and chocolate bread!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

