Review: Straight Outta Compton!

soc

I cannot actually explain how amazing this film was! I had arranged to see it a few times in the last few weeks, but I never got around to it. Until now. Oh my goodness! It was so unbelievably good. I did think that it came across a little bit like a documentary with the locations and years stated as the film went on.

I love any sort of hip hop music, but I do think that black American 80s/90s hip hop is probably the best. Jay Z being my ultimate fave, I just think that they had something more to say. It kinda annoys that I missed this era of history and things changing. After seeing the film, I have realised just how shoddy ‘chart music’ is. You have idiots talking about not being about to feel his face and people not able to stand still. It’s annoying because you do genuinely realise that they aren’t saying anything. There’s no input, no actual purpose for that particular song. Rant over.

This movie is based of the lives of N.W.A. – these were Dr. Dre, Mc Ren, Eazy-E, DJ Yella and Ice Cube. It all began in 1987, when they began rapping about their situation in America in the 80s. The thing that surprised me the most was that it was only in the 80s and they were allowed to stop any black man and search him. Madness. like all people are the same and have the same mentality. Anyway… they are all from Compton, a dangerous area of America and the film tells us the true story of how they used true lyrics to get themselves out. My favourite part of the film was the performance at Detroit, where the police told them to not to do this and not to do that, so they blasted ‘F@!? the police!’ and were arrested for doing so. Pretty awesome.

soc1

The saddest part was that I learnt about the death of Eazy-E. I knew that he had died before the reunion album, but I had no idea that it was because of HIV. I think that that must have been a crazy thing to go through at that time and with his fans. He wrote thousands of personal letters to his fans as he believed that it was important to educate and inform people of HIV and its affect on people. That’s an extremely brave thing to do. I’ve got to say that I hate seeing men cry, in real life and in films. I just can’t handle it. But I think because they were all perceived as strong, grown up men, it made it even more difficult to watch. It was really really sad and I think that’s the closest to crying in a cinema. It was so sad and his line where he says ‘I’ll see you when I get out’ almost got me.

I almost forgot to mention that Ice Cube’s son played the part of his dad in the film and he did an amazing job! I think that it is kind of cool that he was sitting there saying that he needed his money he’d earned because he had a baby on the way – and he was the baby! Pretty awesome. I really enjoyed the film and I know that I love this music and it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but I think that the story and the people made it just as important a message. I would really recommend it and I think that everyone could learn about the sort of lives people have lived. Like I said, it’s unbelievable that this was only in the 80s/90s. It’s crazy. Go and see it!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

One thought on “Review: Straight Outta Compton!

Leave a Reply

