Perfect for those winter lunchtimes…


Apologises that I haven’t blogged a lot this week – I haven’t been feeling too great. I cancelled going out, had lots of baths and generally went to bed super early to try and get rid of a cold / tummy bug. I have had a pretty chilled weekend, but I still don’t feel 100%.

I love this time of year for the festivities, the pumpkins, the meeting up with people that you haven’t seen for ages and the general excuse to go out more ‘because it’s nearly Christmas’, but I hate that I get ill and I hate that the mornings are so dark and it’s dark at like 5 o’clock.

On Sunday, I still wasn’t feeling great, but I decided that I’m sick of having a boring sandwich for my lunch. I decided to make a red pepper and tomato soup!! I had never made a soup before and I actually really enjoyed making it. It was really, really straight forward.


So, things you will need are:

  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil,
  • 1 red or white onion (whichever you prefer),
  • 2 red peppers,
  • 600g of tomatoes (yes, it will look like a lot),
  • 1 tin of tinned tomatoes,
  • 2 cloves of garlic,
  • 1 chicken stock cube (mixed with 1 litre of boiling water).

Firstly, chop up the onion into small chunks and place in a massive pan to ‘sweat’ with the olive oil for 3-4 minutes. This was me after chopping the onion…


Next, crush the garlic, chop the peppers and quarter the tomatoes and add to the pan! There will be a lot of ingredients so make sure you’ve got a big enough pan!

IMG_4296

Then, add the chicken stock, which you’ll need to dissolve in 1l of boiling water.


Β Add the tinned tomatoes.

Stir until it boiling and then leave to simmer for around 30-45 minutes. If you leave it and forget about it, don’t panic – the blending will just be easier.


Finally, use a hand blender to smooth out the soup. This must only be done once the soul has cooled and is ready to store in the fridge.

Place your massive batch of red pepper and tomato soup in your fridge and enjoy throughout the week :)

IMG_4317

I am actually quite surprised at how easy it was to make this soup and it tastes sooooo food! It’s quite red pepper-y but I love it and it’s definitely one that I’ll be making again soon! Perfect for the winter lunchtimes!

Peace and love,

Polly May xx

One thought on “Perfect for those winter lunchtimes…

Leave a Reply

