Budapest – Day 3!

Day 3 was definitely started in style and after having a cheeky croissant in Costa, we went to see the Shoes along the River Danube. (Taken from Wikipedia:) [The Shoes on the Danube Bank is a memorial in Budapest, Hungary. Conceived by film director Can Togay, he created it on the east bank of the Danube River with sculptor Gyula Pauer to honor the Jews who were killed by fascist Arrow Cross militiamen in Budapest during World War II. They were ordered to take off their shoes, and were shot at the edge of the water so that their bodies fell into the river and were carried away. It represents their shoes left behind on the bank.] It was truly moving and I thought they they were absolutely gorgeous! Not in a materialistic way, but in a way that I just think that it’s such a simple idea, and yet, it makes such an impact. Shoes are such an everyday item that we rarely think or look at them, but realising that they were literally shot into the River, just makes me shiver.

Being as I was feeling a bit better today, and it wasn’t raining (yay!), we decided to go over to the Buda side. I hadn’t realised that it was ever two different countries, but as we walked across chain bridge, we got to learn a lot more of the country as a whole. Budapest was so pretty from the bridge and I quickly realising the sheer scale of the Parliament building. In the picture of me at the top, Buda is on the left and Pest is on the right.

We then found the funicular – possibly the funniest word to say. Ever. So, we paid our money to go up. Briony, bless her, isn’t a fan of heights or small wooden boxes that move you up a ridiculously steep hill so the top middle picture is me being a twit and her pretending to be fine. Ha! All joking aside, she actually did really well and you wouldn’t even of known that she didn’t like it. We got to the top and had a stroll along, taking an insane amount of photographs, and finally stumbling on an amazing church!

These photographs really doing to the Matthias Church justice. It was just amazing and the detail and everything that they had thought of was just amazing. On the second floor of the church, they had built a museum, which told you all about the history of the building etc. I would highly recommend this church if you’re going to Budapest. I don’t think that it is hyped enough. Just for the beauty and photographs, go.

After leaving the church, we made our way down the funicular again and returned back over to Pest. I have to say that I did prefer Pest to Buda because of the pretty buildings and the fact that everything was so close. Buda seemed a little bit more residential, rather than welcoming tourists. We went and got some late lunch in the little cafe opposite the Jewish Museum, before heading back to the hotel to get ready for the evening.

As it was our last night, we decided to go for a few cocktails and a ‘proper’ dinner. So, after getting lost for a good hour and a half and seeing most of Budapest, we arrived at the Hard Rock Cafe. It was almost like they knew I was coming in, because they sat us next to a Keith Richards painting that had been painted by Ronnie Wood! So cool! We had a couple of cocktails, a ma-hoo-sive burger and chips and then strolled home, where we pretty much fell straight to sleep. It was awesome!

Day 4 consisted of us travelling home, so I won’t bore you with the trip to the airport and me sneezing and coughing all the way home (I got a horrendous cold!). I think I would go back to Budapest as there are still things that I didn’t get to see and I would love to go back when it’s warmer and do the outdoor pools at the spas. It is such a pretty country and some of the hotels are very 1950s and you could just imagine the ladies standing in their furs, waiting for their cars to be pulled round. It’s a very magical place.

I hope these last few blogs have given you an idea of what it is like and whether you would like to go. I had no idea what was there really, but I am so glad I chose there for my little trip! I was really, really good and I would say to anyone that likes history to go!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

