David Jason: My Life

Being a massive Only Fools and Horses fan (who isn’t?), I got bought this book a little while ago and have been working my way through it when I had a chance. Once I finished work for the summer, I was determined to finish it and have finished it already!

At first, I felt that it was a little bit slow and took a while to ‘get going’, but as I read more, it was really interesting and great to find out more about his life other than his ‘Open All Hours’, ‘Only Fools and Horses’ and ‘Frost’ days. So, here’s a bit of background information if you’re not too sure who he is (taken from wikipedia)…

Sir David John White, OBE (born 2 February 1940), better known by his stage name David Jason, is an English actor and comedian. He played Derek “Del Boy” Trotter in the long-running BBC comedy seriesOnly Fools and Horses, and Detective InspectorJack Frost on the ITV crime drama A Touch of Frost.

Other high-profile television roles were as Granville in the sitcom Open All Hours, and Pa Larkin in the comedy drama The Darling Buds of Mayas well as the voices of Mr. Toad in The Wind in the Willows, Danger Mouse and Count Duckula. His last original appearance as Del Boy was in 2014, while Jason retired his role as Frost in 2010.

davidjason_2792953c

The book was so good, giving you an insight into how he became such a success. I loved that he took his brother and sister when he received his OBE from The Queen. I also loved that he touched on the not so happy times that he had when his long-term girlfriend passed away from breast cancer. There was also the cutest picture of him and his daughter, Sophie, named after the little girl in the BFG, who he had with his wife, Gill.

I loved reading all about the Only Fools and Horses days though because I’m such a fan. There were parts in the book describing certain scenes and scripts and lines that I already knew. I really do love those episodes. They remind me of growing up, laughing, Christmas, and watching TV with my Dad. I remember one of our favourites was the Holiday episode, where Del Boy wins a free holiday only to find out it was in the under 15’s category and Rodney has to join the Groovy Gang at the complex. Hilarious, and very clever.

Finally, I really liked the way he spoke about Ronnie Barker and his general admiration of him. He was able to include this so sincerely and so easily, without it being false. He also shared a poem that Ronnie Barker had written him as the final paragraph in his book. So, so good! I hadn’t read an autobiography and I really wanted to give one a go as they are quite easy to pick up and leave every now and then. I’m excited with what to read next.

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

