The BFG: Film Review

So, like absolutely everyone I absolutely love Roald Dahl and everything he has ever done! My favourite being Matilda – I know pretty much every single word of the film, but I also love Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Esio Trot, The Witches. Everything, really. So when I saw that The BFG was being made into a film, I was really excited.

I have been twice since the film came out because I enjoyed it so muhc, and I really don’t think that I’ve done that for a film for a while. I really loved that it was a bit more realistic with the language used and the slight darkness with the ‘bad giants’. One child actually screamed when I went to see it the day that it came out, which I think was a little bit dramatic, but it is well done. I loved how he collected the dreams and thought the the ‘dream tree’ was done brilliantly. I love the idea of jumping int a lake and becoming upside down and surrounded by dreams. How magical!

bfg

It was also done really well and The BFG was such an emotional character that you felt like you wanted him to do really well from the start. I liked it when he finally stood up for himself to the other giants, and then, of course, there was the visit to The Queen…

It was done so well. How he appears in the Queen’s gardens was amazing and I really enjoyed how they guided him into Buckingham Palace for his breakfast, served on a huge table with serving trays as plates. I just love that! The fizzpopping was also hilarious and so, so funny. I’d love to drink a drink where the bubbles go the wrong way!

Finally, the ending of the film is just gorgeous! I love that Roald Dahl created someone that children could talk to and made them believe that whatever they needed to share, he would be listening. I can’t imagine how many children that must have helped and, even though it might sound silly to adults, The BFG gave children someone to talk to. Someone who they might not have had otherwise. SO. GOOD.

Anyway, go and see it, even if it isn’t your cup of tea. It is a really good film and the special effects are amazing! You’d have to be really cold to not love the Big, Friendly Giant.

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

