‘Me’ Days.

It’s really important to book in ‘Me Days’ where you go and do exactly what you want. Whether you like visiting new cities, new museums, new restaurants… whatever! Go and do it! Stop waiting for people to be there. Stop waiting for a particular day. Stop putting off seeing the things you want to see and doing the things you want to do.

Some of my happiest memories are from Museum days. When I was doing my Art Foundation Diploma after college, a lot of my friends, all of them in fact, went to Uni, so I was kind of on my own. I still spoke to them all most days and I made new friends on my Art course, that I am still best friends with now. But, I suppose if they had all been here, I wouldn’t have realised how important it is to just jump in your car or get on a train and have a whole day to yourself.

img_2646

Last year, I blogged when I went up to The National Gallery with a book. I sat on the district line for about an hour reading my book (The Secret Life of Bees) before getting off at Embankment. I went and grabbed a drink and a chocolate bar and sat on the fountains in Trafalgar Square, people watching. I then spent about 3 hours in The National Gallery, before walking in the pouring rain all the way down the river, across the wobbly bridge and down to TATE Modern. I was so, so incredibly happy. I couldn’t even tell you why. I hadn’t had some amazing news. I didn’t have plans of where I was going. It was just a great day. I wondered around the TATE Modern for a couple for hours and found rooms I hadn’t found in there before. I saw paintings that almost made me cry and then I went and grabbed the train from Blackfriars station.  Even now, I still think what an amazing day it was and it honestly wasn’t anything special, but it was to me.

So, I have decided that every single month, I am going to put aside at least 1 day, where I have a ‘Me Day’. They will all probably end up being London days wondering around Museums and drinking copious amounts of hot chocolate, but I think it will be fun. I am going to write it in my diary and I am going to stick to it. No matter what. If things come up, or people can only meet up on that day, I’ll have to say that I’m busy and I’ve got a date with me! Ha!

Book your ‘Me Day’ in. Book that exhibition. Read that book in the park wrapped up in layers and layers of scarf. Visit that place. Listen to that audiobook while wondering around all day. Do it!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

