The British Museum

The British Museum hasn’t ever really been one of my favourites, but I do think it’s fun to mix it up a bit every now and then and do something different, so I went for the day with my friend, Briony. We travelled up to Holborn, and walked the short distance to the Museum. I was surprised not to be able to walk straight into the Museum itself and was directed to a summer tent thing, where the museum has set up security to check bags etc. It’s such a shame that cities, like London, feel that this is a necessary thing to do now, but I completely understand why and would rather see people being cautious of any threats etc. London is far too pretty for anything awful to happen to it.

Anyway, once we got into the Museum we wondered around and I found rooms that I had never seen before. We found the ‘History of Money’ with old coins and notes and even a money making machine! We also found some fascinating Greek and Egyptian artifacts. It was really interesting! We then left the museum after a few hours of soaking in all of the culture and walked down to Covent Garden, which is my favourite place to go for food and the markets. We looked around the shops, roamed around the market, had a lovely meal in TGI’s and then wondered back to Embankment station, where we came home. It was lovely to do something different and something that didn’t really have to happen. Like, it wasn’t for any occasion, it was just for something fun and different to do, and I love that.

I also found that we (by ‘we’, I mean London), have the Sutton hoo mask?!?!?! Whaaaaaat!?!?! I have taught my class about this loads of times over the last few years I have been teaching and they always find it really interesting, as do I. But, I never knew that WE had it in The British Museum. I was so happy to have found it!

Anyway, here’s a few pictures that I wanted to share with you. Please click on an image to enlarge it. Also, please visit Museums wherever you live! They are super important and they need our support!

Peace and love, Polly May xx

Leave a Reply

